Review of the points test discussion paper

​​​​​The Government’s Migration Strategy was released on 11 December 2023. The strategy outlines a new vision for Australia’s migration system. It contains a policy roadmap with 8 key actions and over 25 new policy commitments and areas for future reform.

One of the key areas of future reform outlined in the Migration Strategy is to explore a reformed points test to better identify migrants to drive Australia’s long-term prosperity.

Australia uses a points test which attributes weightings and a pass mark to tailor the points tested visa programs. This reflects Australia’s long-term labour market needs. We invite independent migrants to apply for a visa based on their skills, attributes, and suitability for employment. 

The points test objectively compares candidates’ skills sets and attributes needed to succeed in the Australian labour market and society. The current general points categories are:

  • Age
  • English language proficiency
  • Employment experience, both overseas and in Australia
  • Educational attainment, including specialist qualifications and study in regional Australia
  • English language proficiency of the migrant’s partner.

The points test applies to the following visa programs:

  • Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189) visa – for migrants with high levels of human capital
  • Skilled Nominated visa Subclass 190 visa – for migrants that have secured a nomination from an Australian State or Territory Government, and
  • Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) (subclass 491) visa – for migrants nominated by a state or territory government agency, or sponsored by an eligible relative and intending to live and work in regional Australia.

​​Submissions are now closed.​

pop-up content starts
pop-up content ends