Ministerial Advisory Council on Skilled Migration

​The Ministerial Advisory Council on Skilled Migration (MACSM) is a tripartite body, comprising industry, unions, State and Territory government representatives and other members nominated by the Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs. MACSM provides advice to the Minister on Australia’s temporary and permanent skilled migration programs and associated matters. 

Terms of Reference

MACSM advises the Minister on:

  • policy settings to optimise the contribution of skilled migration to Australia’s economy, including in regional Australia, and in attracting the best and the brightest
  • the size and composition of Australia’s temporary and permanent skilled migration programs
  • skill shortages in the labour market which cannot be met from the domestic labour force and domestic training and education programs
  • opportunities to reduce regulatory burdens and costs on Australian businesses seeking to access visa programs to fill genuine skilled vacancies
  • policies to ensure that Australian workers are afforded priority in the labour market
  • the role of State and Territory governments in skilled and business migration
  • the adequacy of regulatory powers of the Department of Home Affairs to ensure integrity and detect and prevent practices which are inconsistent with the intent of the programs
  • opportunities to address the exploitation of migrant workers
  • strategies to ensure Australia’s migration programs contribute to Australia’s security, prosperity and economic recovery post COVID-19.
In providing advice MACSM gives consideration to the broader migration context while retaining a focus on skilled migration.​

The Department of Home Affairs provides secretariat support to MACSM.

List of MACSM members for 2022-23

Mr Innes WILLOX AM (Chair)
Chief Executive
Australian Industry Group

Ms Alexi ​BOYD
Small Business Consultant

Ms Annie ​BUTLER
Federal Secretary
Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation

Ms Melinda CILENTO
Chief Executive
Committee for Economic Development of Australia

Dr Joanna HOWE
Associate Professor in Law
The University of Adelaide

Centre for Policy Development

Chief Executive Officer
National Farmers Federation

Chief Executive Officer
Professionals Australia

Professor Peter MCDONALD AM
Professor of Demography
University of Melbourne

Chief Executive Officer 
Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Mr Steven MURPHY
National Secretary
Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union​

Ms Michele O'NEIL
Australian Council of Trades Unions

Chief Executive Officer
Regional Australia Institute​

Chief Executive Officer
Business Council of Australian

Mr Michael WRIGHT
National Assistant Secretary
Electrical Trades Union of Australia​

pop-up content starts
pop-up content ends