What is a Designated area of Australia?

Designated areas of Australia include all of the Australian Capital Territory and all of the Northern Territory. It includes all of the states of South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia. It includes some postcodes in the states of New South Wales and Queensland.

Designated areas of Australia

State or territory

Designated area

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

Entire territory

New South Wales (NSW)

(except Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong)

2311 to 2312, 2328 to 2333, 2336 to 2490, 2535 to 2551, 2575 to 2739, 2787 to 2898

Northern Territory

Entire territory


(anywhere outside the Brisbane metropolitan area)

4019 to 4028, 4037 to 4050, 4079 to 4100, 4114, 4118, 4124 to 4150, 4158 to 4168, 4180 to 4899

South Australia

Entire state


Entire state


Entire state

Western Australia

Entire state