pop-up content starts
pop-up content ends

Identity security

About aviation or maritime security identification cards (ASIC or MSIC)

​Types of MSIC cards

There are two types of MSICs: blue and white.

The type of MSIC you require will depend on your role and operational need. If you are unsure, talk to your employer or issuing body.


A valid blue MSIC must be properly displayed in a maritime security zone of a security regulated port or offshore facility.

White MSIC

A person might be required to hold a valid white MSIC, if employed in a security-sensitive role that requires a valid background check.

You may need a white MSIC, if you are contracted or employed by an MSIC issuing body.