pop-up content starts
pop-up content ends

Cyber security

Cyber security is important for Australia's national security, innovation, and prosperity.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Australia’s Cyber Security Strategy 2020

​On 6 August 2020, the Australian Government released Australia’s Cyber Security Strategy 2020.

The Australian Cyber Security Strategy 2020 will invest $1.67 billion over 10 years to achieve our vision of creating a more secure online world for Australians, their businesses and the essential services upon which we all depend. It will be delivered through:

  • Action by governments to strengthen the protection of Australians, businesses and critical infrastructure from the most sophisticated threats.
  • Action by businesses to secure their products and services and protect their customers from known cyber vulnerabilities.
  • Action by the community to practice secure online behaviours and make informed purchasing decisions.

While this Strategy is an Australian Government initiative, we recognise the essential role of state, territory, local governments, businesses, academia, international partners and the broader community in strengthening Australia’s cyber security. Every part of government, business and the community has a role to play in implementing the Cyber Security Strategy 2020.

The Australian Cyber Security Strategy 2020 replaces Australia’s 2016 Cyber Security Strategy.​​

For cyber security assistance and further information on how to protect yourself online, see cyber.gov.au.


The Australian Cyber Security Strategy 2020 was informed by extensive consultation. Between September 2019 and February 2020 we met with more than 1,400 people from across the country in face-to-face consultations, including workshops, roundtables and bilateral meetings.

We received 215 written submissions in response to our call for views. 156 of these submissions were public and have been published.

The Minister for Home Affairs also established an Industry Advisory Panel to provide strategic advice to support the development of the Australian Cyber Security Strategy 2020. The Industry Advisory Panel has released its final report available at 2020 Cyber Security Strategy Industry Advisory Panel.​

Industry Advisory Committee

On 20 October 2020, the ​​Minister for Home Affairs announced the establishment of an Industry Advisory Committee. The Committee will build on the success of the Industry Advisory Panel and will ensue industry continues to play a formative role in shaping the delivery of short and longer-term actions set out in the Cyber Security Strategy 2020.

The Committee will perform an ongoing advisory role and help guide the delivery of Australia’s Cyber Security Strategy 2020. The Committee is chaired by Andrew Penn, CEO of Telstra. Mr Penn also chaired the Industry Advisory Panel.

The Committee members are:

  • Andrew Penn, Industry Advisory Committee Chair, CEO of Telstra (former Chair of the Industry Advisory Panel)
  • Cathie Reid, Industry Advisory Committee Deputy Chair, Chair of AUCloud
  • Darren Kane, Chief Security Officer of NBN Co (former Industry Advisory Panel Member)
  • Chris Deeble AO CSC, Chief Executive of Northrop Grumman Australia (former Industry Advisory Panel Member)
  • Bevan Slattery, Chairman of FibreSense
  • Corinne Best, Trust and Risk Business Leader of PricewaterhouseCoopers Australia
  • Patrick Wright, Group Executive Technology and Enterprise Operations NAB
  • Rachael Falk, Chief Executive Officer Cyber Security CRC
  • Professor Stephen Smith, Chair of Advisory Board, University of Western Australia Public Policy Institute
  • David Tudehope, Chief Executive Officer, Macquarie Telecom Group

Protecting Crit​ical Infrastructure and Systems of National Significance 

As outlined in Australia’s Cyber Security Strategy 2020, the Australian Government is committed to protecting the essential services all Australians rely on by uplifting the security and resilience of critical infrastructure.

For further information see​ ​Protecting Critical Infrastructure and Sy​​​​​​​stems of National Significance​​.​​​